A Change of Pace

I’m sure you just noticed the change in the appearance of Desiree Writes, as well as the tagline underneath the heading: “thoughts on life with a moderate sprinkling of public relations.” Here’s the explanation…

More than five years have passed since I wrote my first blog post. As you can easily tell, that first entry wasn’t posted here. I have to admit that I have a horrible track record of writing in the same blog  for a sustainable amount of time. After all, I created my first blog on Xanga, then owned three different blogs on Blogspot, another on Posterous, spent quite a bit of time on Tumblr with two blogs and finally ended up here.

Why did I switch so often? The platform I switched to always seemed to have a more appealing user interface, along with more attractive design templates. Even more importantly, I got in the habit of starting over when I wanted to change my blog’s overall theme, instead of making simple modifications to the subject. And, not to my surprise, I’m once again starting to feel that familiar desire to shift the focus of Desiree Writes.

Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoy writing about public relations. However, I’m itching to write about more diverse topics, instead of limiting myself to just one. It’s becoming more difficult for me to willingly write about public relations after spending 40 hours immersed in it during the week. Maybe that will change in the future, but right now, I enjoy coming home from the office and letting my mind roam freely — without having to think about work-related topics. That’s one reason why I’ve lacked consistency in posting here through the last few months, and I apologize for that.

Luckily, I think that inconsistency will come to an end with my decision to change the focus of this blog. I’ll continue to write about public relations, but I plan to widen the variety in topics. One of my motives behind this blog was to establish myself as a “new PR pro,” and now that I’ve done that, I’d like to give you all a better sense of who I am outside of public relations. The tone will be a less formal and a bit more personal, with posts that will give you a peek into my everyday life and deepest thoughts.

I hope you’ll enjoy what you read from here on out.

Leave a Reply

