Making Up for a Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Week

This last week was arguably the toughest I’ve had since moving to Atlanta. Many unwelcome surprises dragged my mood to its lowest point, and there was no indication that anything would start to get better. It didn’t help that I let even the smallest things tear at my happiness. I know that was the worst way to deal with the situation, but I went down that road anyway.

At least now the only way to go is up, right? Right.

So I’m pushing these thoughts to the front of my mind to avoid having another week like the last one. Being unhappy just isn’t worth my time — and will never be worth my time.

Stop dwelling on things. I am a perfectionist who always wants to be one her “A-game.” (I know that all of you PR folks can understand that!) When things fell through this week, I couldn’t help but dwell on what went wrong and how I could have prevented them from happening. At the end of the day though, it’s important to remember: no one is perfect; everyone makes mistakes; it’s not whether you get knocked down, it’s whether you get back up. I know, I know. Those are such cliche words of wisdom, but you have to admit that they’re true.

Stop getting upset about what you can’t control. If you’re like me, you probably find yourself constantly wishing that you could control every single thing that happens in your life. But that’s impossible. There are some things that you will never be able to control. Prime example? Rush hour traffic in Atlanta. No matter early you leave to “beat the traffic,” there is always a chance that a bad accident, unexpected highway construction or perhaps something as out of the ordinary as a bomb threat (you might think that’s an extreme example, but it happened this week) will make you late for work. All you can do is take the situation as it is and roll with it: when life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

Get out and do something. Go for a run, read or write in the park, treat yourself to dinner with a friend, see a movie, try something new. Make sure you know what your perfect release is. It’s great when you’re able to distract yourself from thinking about the downfalls of your day or week with something you love. Why? Your ongoing passion for the things you love will most likely overcome any of the temporary senses of hatred or dislike you’re feeling toward your life. So what did I do over the weekend to make up for my terrible, no good, very bad week?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • On Saturday, I went to brunch with my friend Miah at Alon’s Bakery and Cafe, which is near Perimeter Mall. I’d highly suggest trying their Caramel Banana French Toast if you’re in the area! We also saw One Day, which was really great, but not nearly as amazing as the book. (I’d recommend that you read it if you’re into dramatic, yet comedic, love/relationship stories).
  • On Friday, I went to dinner with my boyfriend at FIGO Pasta. I’m in love with their ravioli and wide selection of pasta sauces. The atmosphere is also perfect, in my opinion. We went to a late night showing of Crazy Stupid Love the next night. If you’re looking for a movie that will give you a good laugh, Crazy Stupid Love is the one for you.

Well, here’s to starting a new week. I hope yours is just as wonderful as mine!

If you have any suggestions on how else you can get through a challenging week, feel free to leave a comment.

2 thoughts on “Making Up for a Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Week

  1. Guest says:

    Breathe! Too often we are running around stressing about what has to get done or how it is possibly going to get done that we shortchange our breathe. That’s the most important thing yoga has taught me. Just stop, close your eyes, and focus on breathing long, deep breathes and refocus on positive energy. Sounds cheesy, yes, but it actually helps!

    • Desiree Mahr says:

      Thanks for the comment! I’ve taken a few yoga classes and have found them to be so relaxing. Perfect for relieving stress. You’re so right!

Leave a Reply

