Counting My Blessings on Thanksgiving 2011


Thanksgiving has arrived. While I think “What I’m Thankful For” blog posts can sometimes be a little cliche, I’ve chosen to write one this year for the simple fact that the past few months have been incredibly difficult for me. As I mentioned in my last post, my world was turned upside down in September, and I wasn’t sure how to best confront the situation. In the end, it turned out that focusing on the positive aspects of my life helped me along the way. Dwelling on my blessings has pushed me forward.

So with that said, here are a few of the things — big and small, serious and comical — that I’m most thankful for this year, aside from my friends and family:

1. My life in Atlanta. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my time in Atlanta thus far. It’s a great city with much to offer, and I’m glad I decided to start my career and independent adult life here. Not to mention the brunch scene is amazing.
2. My Jackson Spalding family. Take note that I used the word “family,” not “coworkers” or even “friends.” The people I’ve met at JS are incredibly supportive on the professional and personal fronts, and I’ve enjoyed getting to know each and every team member. We have the best time at work — and after hours, too. I’m glad I can say I work with people who are truly like family.
3. The Internet. I think this is pretty self-explanatory. The Internet is just plain wonderful. I can keep up with old friends via social media, read the news from around the world, learn about any topic, watch episodes of television shows and send emails (can you imagine what it must have been like to hand-deliver or fax all press releases and other materials for work every day? Yikes.).
4. My NOOKColor. Though I haven’t read nearly as much as I’d planned this year (see my 26 Books page), I’ve still enjoyed every moment I spent on my Nook. The convenience of accessing any book on a tablet is awesome (though I do miss cracking the spine of physical books), and the device is perfect for browsing on the Internet, listening to music and more.
5 . Thrift stores. Thrift stores offer fun that rivals treasure hunts, in my opinion. You never know what you’re going to find! And what’s better than finding unbeatable deals? Thrift stores have really helped me boost my winter wardrobe.
6. My Better Homes & Gardens cookbook. To make a long story short, I don’t really know how to cook that well. I received this cookbook as a gift from my aunt, and it has made all the difference.
7. Harry Potter marathons on ABC Family. If you’re like me, you’ll never get tired of the Harry Potter books and movies. ABC Family helps me to relive the magic over and over again. I can’t help but stop to watch the marathons each time they come on.
8. Pen and paper. For me, there is no better release than writing my deepest thoughts and feelings down on paper. There’s just something that a keyboard and a computer monitor can’t offer that a pen and paper can.

What are you thankful for this year? I hope you have a wonderful holiday with your families and friends. Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “Counting My Blessings on Thanksgiving 2011

  1. Puneet says:

    My cooking skills – or the lack thereof – is something I am NOT thankful for at all, haha! I’ll be checking out that cookbook. Thanks for sharing and happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

    P.S. Pen and paper FTW.

Leave a Reply

