Looking Ahead to 2012

The new year is almost here, and that means most of us are thinking about what resolutions we’d like to make. According to Psychology Today, less than half of Americans stick with their resolutions after six months, and, by the end of the year, that number declines to around ten percent. So, the fact that I always (but not purposely) abandon my resolutions by the six month mark shouldn’t come as a surprise to you. It all comes down to the difficulty of making change happen — it’s never easy.

This year, I’m not making “resolutions.” I was motivated by my friend Tatiana to instead make a list of goals I’d like to accomplish by the end of the year (see her post here). These goals will also be a driving force for me to cross a few things off my Bucket List, so I’m hitting two birds with one stone.

  • Train and register for at least four races. I’ll be running my first 5K on March 31 in Atlanta and plan to space the remaining three races evenly from April until October. As an additional component for this goal, I’d love to trim my time by four minutes.
  • Make at least two international trips. I would love to take one trip to a Spanish-speaking country and another to a European country. Of course, any international destination would be fine — by no means will I limit myself those two categories alone.
  • Master conversational Tagalog at the intermediate level. I received the Rosetta Stone software (levels 1, 2 and 3) for Tagalog as a Christmas gift, and I’m picking the language up quickly. Combined with practicing often with my mom, I believe I can make plenty of progress in the next year.
  • Create and follow a regular posting schedule for my blog. I’m aiming to draft new blog posts at least once or twice per week. I have some great ideas for content, and I don’t want to see them go to waste.
  • Make time to read the 26 books on my list. I failed miserably at reaching my goal of 26 books this year because I didn’t make time! That has to change this year.
  • And now for a general goal for the year: Stress LESS and smile MORE!

Here’s to a wonderful start to the new year. I’m wishing you all the best in 2012! If you’re making resolutions or setting goals for this year, feel free to leave a comment with your list — we can work toward reaching them together!

5 thoughts on “Looking Ahead to 2012

  1. tatiana says:

    I’m excited about this! Thank you for the sweet shoutout. Here are 5 of mine, mostly from my 30 Before 30 list.

    1. Learn German (intermediate level)
    2. Publish a short story
    3. Learn to cook five new things
    4. Start doing yoga (weekly)
    5. Get a job in new media/social media.

    Here’s to an awesome 2012!

    • Desiree Mahr says:

      I love your list, especially numbers 3 and 4! I can’t wait to see how we’ve done on our goals at the end of 2012. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

