On My 23rd Birthday — 23 Reasons I’m Loving Life

As you may have noticed, I’ve been on a sort of blogging hiatus this summer. I’m going to do my best to get into the swing of things, especially since the busy-ness of the season is (sadly) coming to an end. I hate seeing summer go, but with its near end comes my birthday! Today I’m celebrating 23 years and praying for many more to come my way. Here are 23 reasons I’m loving life right now:

My fiance and I after his proposal in Fernandina Beach, FL.

  1. There were days and weeks this summer when I let worry and concern consume me. I shouldn’t have, because at the end of the day, I have a God who protects me and continues to bless me. That’s definitely the top reason I’m loving life.
  2. I have awesome parents and a wonderful family who have been my loudest cheerleaders and biggest supporters.
  3. Looks like I never had a chance to mention that … I’m engaged! My amazing boyfriend, now fiance, proposed almost one month ago during our trip to Amelia Island, FL. We’ve been together for years, so we are absolutely thrilled about our new life journey.
  4. With our recent engagement comes wedding planning! Just like any other girl out there, I’ve dreamed about and envisioned my wedding countless times. I’m excited to finally make it happen. (I’ll likely post about our progress here, so be sure to check back!)
  5. Good friends are hard to come by. But mine are wonderful.  I can always trust and confide in them, and they never let me down.
  6. I love love, and it feels amazing to be surrounded by so much of it every day.
  7. I’m alive, healthy and well.
  8. Hugs from the people who care about me give me more strength than I could have ever imagined.
  9. Smiles warm my soul.
  10. Laughter goes along with smiles and hugs. How can you not love life when you’re laughing — especially until you’re bent over from stomach pains after laughing so hard?

    You can never go wrong with reading poolside during the summer time.

  11. I’ve spent plenty of afternoons lounging by the pool. Relaxation at its finest.
  12. Reading offers such a unique way of escaping the humdrum of  day-to-day life. (I came across a few great books this summer, so let me know if you’d like suggestions! You can also check out my book list.)
  13. Music rocks my world. I don’t think this needs any further explanation.
  14. Speaking of my coworkers, they are great. I’m lucky to have found a company that offers a job that I enjoy, along with caring and supportive coworkers to match.
  15. It simply feels incredible to live on my own. It can be tough sometimes, but it is certainly fulfilling.
  16. It also feels incredible to have learned how to set aside time for myself. Some of my favorite moments from this year have resulted from “me time,” which I didn’t always have before.
  17. The Olympics! Shout out to Team USA for dominating the medal count. (I know,  I know, the Olympics are already over. But I couldn’t leave the games off this list!)
  18. I have a weakness for CamiCakes, my all-time favorite cupcake shop in Atlanta, that I take advantage of quite often. If you buy me a red velvet cupcake from there, I promise you will have won me over.
  19. So, I also have a weakness for the quesoat Taqueria del Sol. I’m satisfying that craving during tomorrow’s lunch outing with my coworkers for my birthday.

    We took a quick trip to Washington, D.C. in May.

  20. My motivation to conquer foreign languagesand see the world still hasn’t gotten old. It will forever be a reason I love life.
  21. This summer gave me the chance to take quite a few more road trips than usual — and I have many more coming up in September. There’s nothing like speeding down the highway with the music blaring.
  22. Let’s just leave it at travel, in general. I have many years ahead, with many domestic and international adventures to look forward to.
  23. The beauty of the unknown and what’s to come in my future leaves endless possibilities for why I should love life. I think that is pretty cool.
4 thoughts on “On My 23rd Birthday — 23 Reasons I’m Loving Life

Leave a Reply

