Real Books & E-Readers: My Internal Conflict

Through my entire life, I’ve always wanted to have a small library at home. Nothing would satisfy me more than to have at least a small nook in the corner of a house — lit up by a ton of natural light — with shelves upon shelves of books lining the walls. Oh, and you can’t forget the big comfy chair that I’d curl up in with a book and mug of hot tea or coffee in hand. It sounds delightful.

For a while, I wasn’t sure how I was going to get to the point of having enough books to create a small library in my home. I’ve had a NOOK Color from Barnes & Noble for almost two years, and since then, I’ve bought a very small number of real books to place inside a bookcase. I love my NOOK, and there are definitely plenty of benefits to having one (simply ask me, and I can give you a slew of reasons). But an internal conflict comes into play when I walk into a bookstore and indulge in the happiness I feel when I’m cracking the spine of a book, smelling the pages, and flipping from chapter to chapter. No matter how convenient my NOOK is, it doesn’t compare to the way I feel when I’m reading a real book.

So what’s a girl to do? How can I continue using my NOOK and building up my collection of books for my small library at the same time? I was browsing in Barnes & Noble the other night with my friend Erica when I came up with a solution. It’s safe to say that this is a happy medium: I’ll purchase all of my books first on my NOOK since they always come at a discounted price. If, and only if, I thoroughly enjoyed the book enough to read it again, I’ll purchase a hard copy from the bookstore. After all, I’ve wasted enough money on real books that didn’t turn out to be as impressive as expected, and I’ve placed them in boxes rather than display them on a shelf. Quality over quantity is what matters most, wouldn’t you agree?

For everyone with e-readers out there, have you completely given in to only purchasing books on your e-reader? Or, do you manage to balance the books you add to your virtual shelf with the books you add to your actual shelves at home? If so, how do you do it?

photo credit: ooh_food via photopin cc

10 thoughts on “Real Books & E-Readers: My Internal Conflict

    • Desiree Mahr says:

      Thanks for sharing a link to your post! It was great to have a chance to look through other people’s opinions on this topic.

  1. ericah88 says:

    So glad you wrote a post about this! You know I’m in favor of real books, but I’m happy that you came to a happy medium about this. Our dreams of small libraries in our homes will come true!

  2. Zen A. says:

    I’m going to get an e-reader soon, but I don’t think I’ll stop buying actual books when I do that, because nothing beats the feel of holding a book between your hands. =] I’ll just get the ebooks I can find and make sure I don’t get the same physical books, and vice versa!

    • Desiree Mahr says:

      That sounds like a great plan! It seems as though we are nearly on the same page with buying real books and e-books. Thanks for your comment!

  3. Puneet says:

    I was gifted an e-reader last Christmas, and I went crazy buying books on it for a week. I made good use of it for a couple of months, but now I’d say I’m back to mostly sticking to “real” books – I’m just not a big fan of reading on a screen and there’s the question of my loyalties to real books..so. 🙂

    • Desiree Mahr says:

      I know exactly what you mean. Reading on a screen was something I had to get used to. I must say that although I read on my NOOK more often than I ever have before, I still prefer the feel of reading “real” books. It never gets old!

Leave a Reply

