The Autumn Leaves Drift By My Window…

The autumn leaves
Drift by my window
The autumn leaves
Of red and gold

There’s nothing more that I love to see during the months of October and November than a tree-lined street or a tree-filled park. When the leaves begin to change from green to yellow and red and orange, my excitement swells. When the dropping temperatures and chilly breezes start to become permanent fixtures in the weather forecasts, I silently squeal for joy.

Because that’s when it really begins to feel like autumn, my favorite season of the year.

I had the chance to visit Buffalo, NY this week during a work trip, and let’s just say that the weather and scenery in the city spoiled me. I reveled in the beauty of the leaves changing colors, taking a moment at the park to sit on a bench, clear my mind and simply enjoy the sights, smells and tastes (also known as anything that throws pumpkin into the mix) of the season. It would have been easy for me to spend an entire day at the park reading and writing to my heart’s content, but of course, my time there ran out. But it was perfect while it lasted.

And you know the best thing about it all? Although locals told me the colorful trees had reached their peak in Buffalo, Atlanta hasn’t come close to hitting that point just yet. I’ll have a second chance to enjoy the breathtaking sights that come along with fall.

What does it look like in your city — have the leaves begun to turn? What’s your favorite thing about autumn?

8 thoughts on “The Autumn Leaves Drift By My Window…

    • Desiree Mahr says:

      Thanks, I’m glad you love them! I hope you have just as much fun as I did taking pictures at the park. You can never go wrong this time of year!

Leave a Reply

