Can You See the Silver Lining? The Brighter Side?

I think an awful lot when I travel. Especially when it involves airports and planes and me being surrounded by strangers.

The last time I traveled was when I visited Buffalo for a work trip. It was a quick, nearly 24-hour trip, and the weather on my first day in town couldn’t have been more beautiful. But the Tuesday I left was the total opposite – it was absolutely dreary outside, and we were all miserable. Not even a Supreme Pumpkin Spice Latte from Tim Hortons (it was my first one, by the way, and I thought it was just fantastic) could make a difference. The clear blue sky had transformed into a thick, grey blanket of clouds, with an endless supply of buckets of rain falling from the sky.

When I arrived at the airport, I was more than ready to board the plane and head back to Atlanta (which I immediately deemed “too-HOTlanta” upon arrival…thank goodness temperatures have finally dropped since then). Time inched along as I people-watched in the airport, doing my best to focus on work while I had some time alone. Then again, who was I kidding? People-watching is a major distraction – actually, let’s call it my favorite pastime of mine – so I didn’t get as much done as I needed to while waiting.

As our plane pulled off the runway and began to ascend, I watched as huge raindrops slid from one side of my window to the other. We broke through the thick clouds and continued to rise. Minutes later, blue skies were staring at us again. That thick, grey blanket lay beneath us, and the bright rays from the sun poured into our cabin. Morale changed instantly. It’s like the dreary weather had never engulfed us, had never put a damper on our day (pun intended).

It made me think about how awesome it feels to rise above any issue, problem, dilemma or predicament I may have and go to my happy place, where I can see the silver lining. Nothing has to be as bad as you initially believe, especially when you find a way to retreat – at least temporarily to gather your thoughts and look at the positive side of the situation. Even though it may be hard to find, there’s always a brighter side. I promise.

photo credits:
arbyreed via photopin cc
Sprengben [why not get a friend] via photopin cc
eschipul via photopin cc

One thought on “Can You See the Silver Lining? The Brighter Side?

Leave a Reply

