Something Old, Something New: What I’ve Learned From Wedding Planning

My fiance and me in front of the Old Dekalb County Courthouse in Decatur, Ga.

From when we got engaged in July until early October, my fiance and I were knee-deep in wedding planning until early October. Booking a venue,  choosing our stationery, selecting a florist, finding my dress and his tuxedo, picking a photographer (check out more of our engagement photos here!), meeting with vendors… the whole shebang. The list goes on and on, as you can imagine. I’ve been pleasantly surprised with how things have progressed though — nothing has been nearly as stressful or as difficult as everyone says, and we luckily have not run into any wedding planning nightmares (knock on wood).

Through all of this, I’ve learned plenty. But this isn’t going to be the typical “what I’ve learned” wedding planning post. (If you want wedding planning advice though, leave me a comment and I am more than happy to answer!) Instead, I want to share my thoughts on what I’ve learned about myself in the last few months.

And, what better way to explain myself than to use the traditional, Old English wedding rhyme? Here we go:

Something Old. I’ve always been highly self-critical, giving in to the habit of overthinking everything. Needless to say, this has been a major part of our wedding planning. However, that hasn’t slowed us down one bit. It’s instead shown me that I can quickly give a full analysis of the options and help to make smart, efficient decisions.

Something New. I used to love bright colors and over-the-top decorations. Now, it’s as though I’ve done a complete 180. The colors we’ve chosen are pretty subtle, the stationery makes a bold statement in a simple way and our decor aligns more with the idea that less is more. Through this, I’ve realized that I despise complications and honestly believe that not everything is as difficult as it sometimes may seem.

Something Borrowed. I’ve learned a ton from my parents. One main thing I’ve picked up from them is the deep understanding that it’s important to avoid doing things last-minute. That has pushed me to make as many early decisions as possible. After all, everyone knows it is not smart to get behind on wedding planning (especially when you’re planning from eight hours away like we are)! It’s become obvious that I’m huge on planning ahead in everyday life, too.

Something Blue. For weddings, the “something blue” signifies “love, fidelity and purity.” With each and every wedding planning decision we’ve made, I’ve taken my fiance, family, wedding party and friends into consideration. I value their opinions and their feedback because, with love, they’ve supported me — and us — every step of the way. And this is just so in every other aspect of my life. I strive to avoid being selfish, and it feels completely natural for me to put the needs of others before myself often. I do it out of love and loyalty to those who are close to me.

I’ll share another wedding planning update in a few months! In the meantime, feel free to leave a comment about our plans or general wedding planning questions, if you’d like.

4 thoughts on “Something Old, Something New: What I’ve Learned From Wedding Planning

Leave a Reply

