Hello there, 2013

medium_4070581709

The end of 2012 and the beginning of 2013 were busier than I could have ever imagined. This is actually the first time since mid-December that I’ve been able to stop and take a breath. (In fact, taking one more deep one now to relish in the moment.)

Anyway, I usually try to take the time to reflect on the past year. And when the clock strikes midnight on Dec. 31, I try to have a list of resolutions ready. This time around, neither of those things happened.

I’m not exactly sure of how I feel about that. Part of me is a little disappointed to have let those traditions go. The other part of me simply says, “Good riddance.” I mean, let’s be honest. I never keep my resolutions, and I reflect on the things for which I’m most thankful more often than once, at the end of the year. So, it’s totally fine that I didn’t do either. Wouldn’t you say so?

Well, I’m welcoming 2013 with wide open arms. It’s going to be a huge year — 12 months full of love, travel and growth. Several weddings, aside from my own, are written into my calendar. (Speaking of my own wedding, I’m counting down the days, and today we have six months to go. Time flies.) There will be several opportunities for me to travel for work and for pleasure, with destinations including Jamaica, Mexico, Philadelphia, the Smoky Mountains, Chicago and Washington, D.C. And I can’t wait to see how much more I’ll continue to grow, personally and professionally.

Along with all of that, I’m looking forward to thinking more positively, reading more often and writing as much as possible in 2013. What lies ahead for you?

photo credit: Stuck in Customs via photopin cc

4 thoughts on “Hello there, 2013

Leave a Reply

