Bouncing Back on The First Day of Spring

IMG_6690

I published my last blog post on Sept. 1, 2014. Fast forwarding to today brings us to March 20, 2016 — the first day of spring, and the first day I’m bouncing back to blogging!

Yes, friends, it’s been that long since I last wrote here. To be honest, I was somewhat ashamed upon realizing a whole year and a half had passed. And that was without even a pseudo-farewell post to say, “I won’t be writing for a while.” (How rude.)

If you were consistently reading my blog at the time though, I’m sure you knew it was coming. Publishing four posts with gaps of four to eight months in between each of them (see for yourself: one, two, three, four) doesn’t necessarily scream, “This blog is SO active!”

But even when I was posting infrequently, it didn’t change the fact that I always experienced much happiness from writing here. I started this blog because I needed a creative outlet that would fulfill my desire to string words together and form ideas, narratives, stories…that you might be able to relate to. Not surprisingly, I’ve felt an obvious void since I stopped.

To get this thing up and running again, I had to make some commitments. I pray that these commitments will extend their reach beyond this blog alone and to all aspects of my life — what a difference that would make!

  • Save enough time. You can’t continue pouring out if your cup is empty. That’s something I learned the hard way. Loving others with a serving spirit and patient heart is so very important to me. But, I know now that I can’t love others as well as I’d like if I don’t commit to saving enough time to also rest, take care of myself and pursue my passions, such as writing.
  • Plan ahead. I’m a great planner at work and for other activities where I’m doing things for others. But for myself, I can be quite the poor planner, neglecting what actually means the most to me. For my blog, I’m committing to planning ahead (thanks to Wunderlist for keeping me organized) and setting aside a few hours each week specifically for writing.
  • Kiss perfection goodbye. No matter how much I plan, there’s bound to be something that won’t fall into place perfectly. In spite of that, I can’t stop executing, which is what I’ve  done in the past. Today, I commit to kissing perfection goodbye and pushing forward with writing no matter what, which leads to my last commitment…
  • Get back up. If I find that I haven’t followed through on each of these commitments, or that I’ve allowed my writing to come to a halt, I commit to getting back up. Simple as that.

Have you ever let a passion project fall by the wayside? How did you get back on track?

I’d love to hear from you now that I’m back in the game — don’t hesitate to comment!

Add me on Bloglovin’ or Feedly

4 thoughts on “Bouncing Back on The First Day of Spring

  1. Alicia says:

    Love it! I haven’t updated mine in a few months… I actually started a draft yesterday! You’ve inspired me to finish it this week. Life is hard and hectic, but we have to remember to set aside time for ourselves! ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

