Leaving My Complaints About Pollen in the Dust

3598581828_30f1b91bcf_o

Whenever spring rolls around, I find myself asking, “Should I go outside to enjoy the beautiful weather that I’ve been waiting on for so long?” Or, “Should I stay inside to avoid suffering from the side effects of the pollen that heavily coats the entire city?”

More often than not, I stay inside. Because truly, nothing (and I mean nothing) is left untouched by the pollen here in Atlanta that aggravates the allergies of nearly everyone I know. I’d never witnessed anything like it before moving to the South.

For those of you who have never experienced this, try picturing a black parking lot that looks as though children have fully covered it in pale yellow sidewalk chalk. Got it? OK.

Now, let it hit you that the pale yellow sidewalk chalk is actually just pollen. And then let it hit you that, even during a strong thunderstorm, the pollen never completely washes away. It instead mixes into the puddles of water on the side of the road, creating a nasty buildup that you (and your body) simply can’t miss.

Oh, the pollen.

For me, taking our dog Roxanne on just a 10-minute walk in the morning is enough to set my allergies on fire. I’ve been living in a Zyrtec haze the last couple of weeks to try to keep the pollen under control, but who am I kidding? The operative word in that sentence is try, seeing as Zyrtec can’t fix everything. Even after taking Zyrtec, I still have constant sneezing fits (they happen in threes, by the way), I sniffle as often as a dog sniffs (in other words, all the time) and I am always rubbing my itchy, irritated eyes (I know, I know, that doesn’t help with the redness or puffiness, and I just don’t care).

If you’re assuming that I do a fair bit of complaining about the pollen and my allergies, that’s fine. I’ll admit that you’re right.

But I’ll also admit this: I hate complaining. So what’s a girl to do?

16370376078_61fa6782b2_o

Today is a new day. And with it, I’m issuing a new challenge for myself: No more complaining about pollen, no matter how bad it may be. It’s time to leave it in the dust (pun intended, of course).

There is nothing quite like the transition we see from winter to spring, but instead of fixating on the wonder and allure of it, I sadly take advantage of the season and just complain about pollen — the one, single, isolated downside. It’s so easy to focus on the negative side of things, but it’s also important to look at the silver lining. No question about it, there are so many upsides to this gorgeous season.

I could go on and on and on about how I love the bright sunshine, blue skies, perfect temperatures and daylight lasting late into the evening.

Or the blooming flowers, shrubs and trees all around that are far too beautiful for words.

Or the call of birds early in the morning and the buzzing of the bees as they calmly make their way from flower to flower.

Or the peace I feel when the rain pitter patters against the windows and the boom of thunder shakes me deep within.

It is simply amazing.

So, here’s to kissing my complaints about allergies goodbye, no matter how hard it may be. I’m committing to this, just as I have committed to moving out of my own way when it comes to writing.

Will you join me? Comment on or like this post to say yes!

photo credit:
room with a view via photopin (license)
New Day. via photopin (license)

Add me on Bloglovin’ or Feedly

2 thoughts on “Leaving My Complaints About Pollen in the Dust

Leave a Reply

